Agreement reached on new leadership of European institutions

ZAGREB, July 2 – The leaders of the 28 European Union member states have reached an agreement on the new heads of the European institutions.

German Defence Minister Ursula von der Leyen was nominated as the European Commission President, Belgian Prime Minister Charles Michel would head the European Council, France’s Christine Lagarde was nominated President of the European Central Bank, and Spanish Foreign Minister Josep Borrell would be the next High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, the outgoing European Council President Donald Tusk announced.

The nominated Commission President is yet to be confirmed by the European Parliament, which will vote on the proposal at its first next plenary session between 15 and 18 July. If the European Council’s proposal fails to pass in the Parliament, the entire package might fall through.

The new European Council President Charles Michel is due to take office on 1 December, while Christine Lagarde will take the helm of the European Central Bank after the term of the current president Mario Draghi expires.

(Source: Hina)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.