4 NATO states sign agreement to establish Regional Special Operations Component Command

ZAGREB, Oct 26 (Croatia Sun News) – The defence ministers of Croatia, Hungary, Slovenia and Slovakia signed an agreement of understanding in Brussels for the establishment of the Regional Special Operations Component Command (R-SOCC).

The agreement was signed on the fringes of a meeting of NATO defence ministers by Damir Krsticevic of Croatia, Tibor Benko of Hungary, Karl Erjavec of Slovenia and Peter Gajdos of Slovakia, the Croatian Defence Ministry said in a press release.

Present at the signing was the new NATO Deputy Secretary-General, Mircea Geoana, who underlined the importance of establishing R-SOCC.

Given that special forces are a very versatile tool in today’s warfare, the signing of this agreement is an important step in strengthening special forces in the region and expanding cooperation and interoperability within NATO, he said.

The agreement contributes to strengthening special operations forces’ capabilities and the development of interoperability and integrated capabilities, and it will also strengthen cooperation between all allies in that field, the press release said.

In February, the four defence ministers signed a letter of intent to establish R-SOCC in Hungary with a view to increasing national capabilities in the engagement of their own special forces.

R-SOCC will develop in line with NATO norms and with the support of the NATO Special Operations Headquarters. Although it is primarily intended for NATO and EU operations, R-SOCC can be engaged in other multilateral missions, exercises and training activities.

(Source: Hina)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.