Croatia’s neighbours impose more restrictive border measures

ZAGREB, March 17 (Croatia Sun News) – Bosnia and Herzegovina has extended the list of countries whose nationals are banned from entering it and Slovenia will suspend all air traffic as of today in a bid to contain the spread of COVID-19.

After it reported on Sunday that the entry of citizens of Italy, South Korea, China, France, Germany and Spain was banned, Bosnia and Herzegovina also forbade the entry of citizens of Austria, Switzerland, Belgium and Romania.

In Bosnia, the COVID-19 tally stood at 24 cases on Sunday.

Slovenia plans to cancel air traffic on Tuesday, a day after all public transportation will be shut down, Jelko Kacin, spokesman for the government’s crisis management unit, told the press on Sunday, according to the STA news agency.

On Saturday evening, there were more than 181 coronavirus cases in the country. Also, Slovenia reported the first COVID-19 related fatality.

An elderly man, who had multiple underlying conditions and had been very ill prior to the infection, died in Ljubljana’s University Hospital Centre after he had been hospitalised due to positive tests for COVID-19.

Montenegro to close borders for foreigners

The authorities in Montenegro, which has not yet confirmed a case of COVID-19 infection, decided on Sunday to close the borders for foreign nationals, while Montenegrins coming back from abroad will be placed in self-isolation.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.